Christmas in Yellowstone

Before you ask, yes, it was cold.

Old Fort Yellowstone at Dawn

Old Fort Yellowstone at Dawn

I traveled to Yellowstone National Park with my Family for Christmas 2011.  These are just a few quick pictures of the trip, just about 5 months late.  However, as the weather heats up, I become nostalgic for the cold temperatures of Winter…which is coming.  Additionally, this post becomes all the more epic as I type, since I am listening to Game of Thrones Soundtrack.

It was little ‘ol me armed with a 2005 mildly defective Olympus point and shoot camera.  But there is a lot of wilderness to be caught, never fear for I have many memory cards, I just should have used them.  I felt like I was playing Pokemon Snap IRL.  Oh yes, my training on the N64 was super applicable to this mission.

The photo of the Old Fort Yellowstone buildings was actually one of the last pictures I took during my trip, however, it is one of my favorites.  I just love how the sleepy little settlement looks like a tiny train set town.  My family used to set up one of those every so often at Christmas.  Then it got to be too much effort and we settled for just the train set.  All the same, that is another story for another time

We arrived like on Christmas Eve, which was kinda odd all things considered.  Most people arrive the 23rd or the 22nd.  However, flights on the 24th are remarkably cheap in comparison.  We flew into Bozeman, Montana.  Cold.  But my brother and I couldn’t really care other than we were hungry.  We found the Co-Op, YAY! And got our provisions.

The following day, Christmas Day, as a present to the family, mom woke us all up by like 6:30 am so we could catch the dawn wildlife tour.  Which is the following photos.  I must say, that I was a little grumpy, all things considered.  I did NOT pack the proper thermal layers.  I would follow the following proceedure.  1: Ride in Car 2: Get out when we pulled over 3:Quickly observe surroundings 4: Jump back in mildly warm van 5: Curse under my breath why others on tour were taking so long to get back in Van.

Lamar valley with Crystalline Trees

Lamar valley with Crystalline Trees

6 Point Elk I think

6 Point Elk, Currently works at The Hartford

My View during the Car Ride

My View during the Car Ride

I was lucky enough to see a lot of wildlife. Including two wolf packs!  That was incredible.  however, my camera lacked the serious zoom needed to capture the majestic and very dangerous creatures.  We saw eagles, dippers, crows/ravens, wolves, bison, elk, etc…

On the final morning, December 26, I opted to take a sunrise hike.  How cool, right?  Wrong.  How COLD!  But this time I wore the proper gear.  YAY!  That is what the following photos are about.  It was just me VS Yellowstone.

The Road to Success, right?

The Road to Success, right?

Tracks at Dawn

Tracks at Dawn

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 1

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 1

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 2

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 2

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 3

Ice Crystals on Boardwalk 3

Sunrise through the Steam

Yellowstone Sunrise through the Steam

Old Fort Yellowstone at Dawn

Old Fort Yellowstone at Dawn

That is it for pictures, I may embellish the entry with more words.

Posted on May 16, 2012, in Rants & Raves and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

