Mozart Rock Opera

Mozart L’opera Rock or Mozart Rock Opera is an interesting French musical I have recently discovered through Youtube related links. Most of the time, I feel like French just sounds like gargling.  For once, I truly wished that I spoke, wrote, and understood French.  Huzzah for Google Translate, Wikipedia, and Youtube!

The musical premiered on 22 September 2009 at the Palais des Sports de Paris, where it continued until 3 January 2010. From 4 February 2010 until 3 July 2010, it went on tour in France, Belgium andSwitzerland. It returned to Paris between 9 November 2010 and 9 January 2011. A second tour began on 4 February 2011 and close on 9 July 2011 at the Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, accompanied by a symphonic orchestra. (From Wikipedia article where you can find a synopsis)

Beyond the nuances of cross dressing, I dare to say, there is a little something for everyone in this music.  They take many melodies from Mozart and infuse them with stagecraft, drama, and electric guitars. Anyway, If you are not a fan of the music, you have to at least acknowledge the men’s costuming.  The fabric and cut of these are just so pretty.

I feel a real sympathy for Antonio Salieri played by Florent Mothe.  Florent does an excellent job of portraying the frustration of Salieri.  At this point he is suicidal over the fact that Wolfgang excells with ease and grace with music while despite his dedication to the art, is just second-best.
L’assasymphonie

Cette nuit
Intenable insomnie
La folie me guette
Je suis ce que je fuis

Je subis
Cette cacophonie
Qui me scie la tête
Assommante harmonie

Elle me dit
Tu paieras tes délits
Quoi qu’il advienne
On traîne ses chaînes
Ses peines

Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie
Aux requiems
Tuant par dépit
Ce que je sème
Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie
Et aux blasphèmes
J’avoue je maudis
Tout ceux qui s’aiment

L’ennemi
Tapi dans mon esprit
Fête mes défaites
Sans répit il me défie

Je renie
La fatale hérésie
Qui ronge mon être
Je veux renaître
Renaître

Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie
Aux requiems
Tuant par dépit
Ce que je sème
Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie
Et aux blasphèmes
J’avoue je maudis
Tout ceux qui s’aiment

Pleurent les violons de ma vie
La violence de mes envies
Siphonnée symphonie

Déconcertant concerto
Je joue sans toucher le DO
Mon talent sonne faux

Je noie mon ennuie
Dans la mélomanie
Je tue mes phobies
Dans la désharmonie

Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie (l’assasymphonie)
Aux requiems (Aux requiems)
Tuant par dépit
Ce que je sème
Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie
Et aux blasphèmes
J’avoue je maudis
Tout ceux qui s’aiment

Je voue mes nuits
A l’assasymphonie (l’assasymphonie)
J’avoue je maudis
Tout ceux qui s’aiment

The AssaSymphony (The Assasinate Symphony)

Tonight is
an unbearable insomnia
Madness waylays for me
I am what I escape from

I suffered
This cacophony
Which saws my head
Boring harmony

It says to me
You will pay your offences
No matter what happens
We drag our chains
Our sorrows

I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony
To requiems
Killing by frustration
what I sow
I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony
And to blasphemies
I confess I curse
All those who love each other

The enemy
Crouching in my mind
Celebrates my defeats
Without letting up it outbraves me

I deny
the fatal heresy
Which gnaws at my soul
I want to be reborn
To be reborn

I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony
To requiems
Killing by frustration
what I sow
I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony
And to blasphemies
I confess I curse
All those who love each other

The violins of my life cry
The violence of my desires
Siphoned off symphony

Disconcerting concerto
I play without touching C
My talent sounds fake

I drown my boredom
In the melomania
I kill my phobias
In the disharmony

I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony (assasymphony)
To requiems (to requiems)
Killing by frustration
what I sow
I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony
And to blasphemies
I confess I curse
All those who love each other

I dedicate my nights
To the assasymphony (assasymphony)
I confess I curse
All those who love each other

About Kim's Stamp of Approval

I'm eccentric and fear writing, goodness why am I making a blog.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in French Music, International Music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

